Skip to main content

Avoiding Adobe Trial Subscription Payments

All BCIT employees and full-time students can access an Adobe Creative Cloud Pro subscription at no cost, and should therefore never need to sign up for a trial subscription. Part-time students can purchase a subscription at a significant discount. We strongly recommend avoiding Adobe trial subscriptions, including for part-time students.

Trial subscriptions are described as “after the trial period, you can cancel at no cost”. If the trial period is accidentally exceeded, you will be auto-enrolled into a 12 month subscription and obligation and there will be a penalty (usually 3 months) to cancel. As you have already provided your credit card information to access the trial, Adobe will continue to bill you until you have cancelled the subscription.

Based on forums and personal experiences with BCIT users, Adobe has a history of difficulties in cancelling trial subscriptions. Attempting to cancel near the 1 month deadline may result in significant obligation fees.